ANNOUNCEMENTS

CPHS Research Webinar: Pandemic Containment and Inequality in a Developing Economy

In response to the current wave of Covid-19 that is rippling through India, many states are considering or have already implemented lockdowns. In this context, it is important to understand the relative benefits of lockdown policies as tools to contain the spread of the pandemic.

On the one hand, they may reduce the spread of Covid-19. On the other, they may have drastic and long-lasting effects on the economic wellbeing of the households that live under lockdown conditions.

Prof. Srinivasan Murali and Prof. Kunal Dasgupta from IIM Bangalore study these tradeoffs in their new paper, Pandemic Containment and Inequality in a Developing Economy.

They will present their findings at the next CPHS Research Seminar on April 29 2021 at 7.30 PM IST (3 PM GMT / 10 AM ET / 7 AM PT). Their paper will be discussed by Prof. Shankha Chakraborty, an expert on studying the economic impacts of epidemics, from the University of Oregon.

You can sign up for the webinar here. If you would like to learn more about the event, please click here.